Kyle Jamieson opts out of India vs New Zealand T20I series

Kyle Jamieson

Just a few hours before the opening match of the India vs New Zealand T20I series, Kiwi pace-bowling all-rounder Kyle Jamieson has decided to skip the T20I series. 

Earlier, Trent Boult opted out of the tour owing to bio-bubble fatigue, and then captain Kane Williamson decided to give the Indian T20I series a miss so that he can refresh himself ahead of the 2-match ICC World Test Championship series against the Indian cricket team. 

Now, New Zealand cricket team’s head coach Gary Stead informed that Kyle Jamieson will miss the series as well. Thus, three players from the New Zealand’s T20 World Cup 2021 squad have now decided to skip the India series. 

“We decided through talking with Kane and Kyle that they won’t play in this T20 series. They’re both going to get ready for the test matches and I think you’ll find there will be other guys involved in the test matches that won’t play the entire series either,” said Gary Stead. 

Gary Stead also mentioned that the New Zealand cricket team has a very busy schedule. They played in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Final in Dubai on Sunday and are now going to face off against India in Jaipur, Ranchi and Kolkata over the next few days. 

India vs New Zealand 2021 Schedule 

Here is the complete schedule for the India vs New Zealand T20I series, which is going to begin tonight at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. 

1st T20I: 17th November  – Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur – 7:00 PM

2nd T20I: 19th November  – JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi – 7:00 PM

3rd T20I: 21st November – Eden Gardens, Kolkata – 7:00 PM

Tim Southee will be the main player for the New Zealand cricket team now in the absence of Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult and Kane Williamson.

From around the web

Trending Videos