Former skipper Jason Holder returns as West Indies announces squad for ODI series against India

West Indies squad for India ODI series

West Indies have announced their 13-man squad for the 3-match ODI series against India starting on July 22 on the evening of 17 July. The squad sees the return of former captain Jason Holder, who was out of the ODI series against Bangladesh, after was rested for the series. It is not going to be an easy task for them to prove themselves in the series against India after the team led by Nicholas Pooran faced a 3-0 series against Bangladesh.

In the ODI series against Bangladesh, the West Indies team had a very disappointing performance from the batsmen. Due to which, the team had to face a clean sweep in the series. However, now captain Nicholas Pooran and the team's vice-captain Sai Hope will have to do better with the bat in the ODI series against India.

Apart from this, the return of Jason Holder in the team also strengthen the team, who will be seen playing an important role with the ball as well as with the bat. Apart from this, if we talk about other changes in the West Indies team, Anderson Phillip and Romario Shepherd have been shown the way out due to their poor performance in the series against Bangladesh.

With the announcement of a 13-man squad for the upcoming ODI series against India, Cricket West Indies chief selector Desmond Haynes has expressed confidence that Holder's return will strengthen the team. In the official statement issued, he said that, "we all know what a wonderful all-rounder Jason is and his return will definitely strengthen the team. With this, the balance of the team will also look better now than before."

West Indies squad for the India ODI series

Nicolas Pooran (captain), Sai Hope (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales.

From around the web

Trending Videos