Here's the reason why Riyan Parag celebrated the catch in an unusual way

Here's the reason why Riyan Parag celebrated the catch in an unusual way

The 63rd fixture of the TATA IPL 2022 was full of drama, thrill, excitement, and nail-biting moments. It had the two best teams from the ongoing season of the IPL fighting for second place in the playoffs. Rajasthan Royals locked horns with Lucknow Super Giants at the Brabourne Cricket Stadium in Mumbai.


In the end, it was the inaugural season winner who held their nerve and came out victorious. RR won the match by 24 runs and moved to second place on the points table, while LSG has slipped down to third place. The playoff situation for RR has been cleared with this win. On the other hand, for LSG it has become a bit tricky.

RR batted first and, with the help of cameos from Sanju Samson, Devdutt Padikkal, and Yashasvi Jaiswal, they reached 178 runs in their 20 overs. Chasing the target, LSG didn't have a great start and ended up with 154 runs. The LSG chase ended up with the wicket of hard-hitting all-rounder Marcus Stoinis in the 20th over of the innings.


And the catch has caused chaos on social media. It happened during the final over of the match, when Stoinis tried to hit a ball for a six, but it was a slower ball from Prasidh Krishna and Stoinis mistimed it. Riyan Parag who was fielding near the boundary line, took the catch did an unusual celebration.

He caught the ball and dramatically took the ball as near as he could to the ground. He tried to mock the third umpire for the earlier decision. That celebration caught the eyes of everyone, and even Matthew Hayden and Ian Bishop looked annoyed with the celebration from Parag on the field.

Although it was a clear catch, the celebration suggested that the fielder tried to indicate the earlier decision by the third umpire. Speaking of the points table, LSG needs to win their next encounter to secure a place in the next round.

From around the web

Trending Videos