Jos Buttler equals MS Dhoni's unique record after leading England to T20 WC 2022 Glory

Jos Buttler equals MS Dhoni's unique record after leading England to T20 WC 2022 Glory
England created history as they beat Pakistan on Sunday on the most iconic cricket ground, the MCG, to lift their second T20 World Cup title. Jos Buttler and his men won the game by five wickets with one over to spare.

Batting first, Pakistan struggled against the disciplined bowling lineup of England and lost wickets at regular intervals. In the end, they reached a total of 137/8 in their 20 overs. Chasing the target, both English openers couldn't replicate the performance they had against India.

England lost their first three wickets for just 45 runs in 5.3 overs. But it was once again Ben Stokes who held his nerve and took England home with an unbeaten half-century. He kept England in the chase and, in the end, pulled off a win with an unbeaten 52* off 49.

With this win, Jos Buttler has registered his name in the record books. Notably, this was England's third ICC title win. Earlier, England won the 2010 T20 World Cup under the leadership of Paul Collingwood and the 2019 ODI World Cup under Eoin Morgan.

It's been just six months since Buttler took over the captaincy role after the sudden retirement of Eoin Morgan in June. And it was the first time that he led England to a T20 WC. However, with this title glory, Buttler has also equaled the unique record of former Indian skipper MS Dhoni.

Butter became only the second wicket-keeper to lead his country to an ICC title win by defeating Pakistan on Sunday at the MCG. Earlier, MSD was the first wicketkeeper to do so when he led India to the 2007 T20 World Cup victory.

Earlier in the game, England's bowlers bowled pretty well. Sam Curran delivered a brilliant spell of 3/12, while veteran leg-spinner Adil Rashid took 2/22. Curran also won the "Player of the Tournament" award with 13 wickets in six innings.

From around the web

Trending Videos