Predicted playing XI of Deccan Gladiators with Suresh Raina for Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022

Deccan Gladiators T10 Suresh Raina

Abu Dhabi T10 League had its followers but it was still lacking popularity. However, the tournament has been given a boost. Former Indian cricketer Suresh Raina has signed up for the tournament and will represent the Deccan Gladiators. On that note, here, we take a look at the predicted playing XI of Deccan Gladiators with Suresh Raina for Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022.

The T10 League is an interesting format. Players like Raina will be beneficial for a team here. While batting depth is not important, the team will need players with big-hitting abilities and bowlers with run-containing skills. Hence, it will not be in a conventional T20 method that the playing XIs will be formed.

Openers: Will Smeed and Jason Roy

Will Smeed recently did well in the Hundred. Since then, he is on a signing spree in various T20 leagues. The Englishman will open the batting with his fellow countryman Jason Roy. The opener has had a tough time this year and needs to return to form at the earliest. This league could help him achieve that. He will target a return to the England squad at the earliest.

Middle-Order: Suresh Raina and Nicholas Pooran (WK)

In Suresh Taina, the team would get an experienced left-hander in the top order. The southpaw is destructive against spin and since Nicholas Pooran is also good against spin, opposition captains might fear introducing spinners when this duo are at the crease. It would actually not be a surprise if one of these two open the batting with Will Smeed dropping to the middle order.

All-Rounders: Andre Russell, David Wiese, and Odean Smith

Andre Russell, David Wiese and Odean Smith will be the all-rounders in this squad. With this trio, the team will get raw power in the final overs. If they get going, no target is enough and the score set will always be high. The trio can also equally contribute with the ball and hence, they add terrific balance to the squad. Based on the situation, Russell might be promoted in the batting order.

Bowlers: Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Zahoor Khan, Josh Little, Taskin Ahmed

Mujeeb Ur Rahman is likely to be the sole spinner in the squad. Since T10 teams might require a spinner with some mystery element, Mujeeb will fit the bill. Each XI needs a local cricketer and Zahoor Khan, as the pacer, finds a spot in this XI. While the pace attack will be led by Bangladesh's Taskin Ahmed, Ireland's Josh Little will also be an important component of this unit.

From around the web

Trending Videos