Rohit Sharma breaks Virat Kohli's T20 record as captain in First T20I at Ageas Bowl


In the ENG vs IND 1st T20I, Team India looked brilliant on Thursday as they handed England a humiliating defeat. The Men in Blue defeated the opposition by 50 runs, with Hardik Pandya winning player of the match honors in Southampton. Team India captain Rohit Sharma, who accomplished a significant milestone during the game, made the match even more memorable.

After missing the recent Edgbaston Test due to COVID-19, Rohit Sharma made a comeback to captain Team India against England in the first T20I. Rohit Sharma became the first skipper to ever win 13 straight T20I matches for his nation with the resounding victory.

After Virat Kohli resigned following the T20 World Cup in 2021, the team India opener assumed control of the T20 squad. Rohit Sharma won matches against Bangladesh, New Zealand, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka after taking over as captain, however he was absent for the series against South Africa.

Along with winning 13 straight games, Rohit Sharma also established numerous other records, including being the fastest Indian captain to score 1000 T20I runs. Team India's leader broke former captain Virat Kohli's record by scoring 1000 runs. Rohit took 29 innings to reach 1000 runs, whereas Kohli took 30. Rohit also achieved the milestone more quickly than any other Indian captain.

After this huge loss to India in the first T20I Jos Buttler and his men will look to thrash India in the 2nd T20I which will be played at Edgbaston, Birmingham on July 9th. India will be high on confidence with Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah returning to the squad. Fans are hoping to see a batting masterclass from Virat Kohli as it was missing for a few years. As the T20 WC is fast approaching, India should find the combination in their playing 11.

From around the web

Trending Videos