Rohit Sharma registered an unwanted T20I record in 3rd T20 vs South Africa

Rohit Sharma registered an unwanted T20I record in 3rd T20 vs South Africa.
On Tuesday, India suffered a 49-run loss at the hands of South Africa in the third T20 in Indore. With this game, the three-match T20I series has been wrapped up and both teams will now play the ODI series starting on October 6.

Speaking of the match, South Africa outplayed the hosts in all three departments. After putting into bat first, the Proteas gave India a huge target of 228 runs. The visitors scored 227/3 in their first innings, with Rilee Rossouw scoring his maiden T20I century off just 48 balls.

He scored not out 100* runs off 48 balls, including seven boundaries and 8 maximus. Quinton de Kock also supported him well and scored back-to-back half-centuries. De Kock made 68 off 43, while David Miller came in the end and played a quick cameo of 5-ball 19 to help the visitors reach a big total of 227/3.

It was a tough target to chase for the hosts, with no Virat Kohli and KL Rahul in the team. Both were rested for this match. Thus, all the onus was on the Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma. But he couldn't do much and got out for a two-ball duck in the very first over.

With this duck, Rohit also registered an unwanted record in the T20 internationals, surpassing Irish opener Paul Stirling. It was the 43rd single-digit score for Rohit in T20Is, which is the most by any batter. Stirling had it earlier, 42 times. Mushfiqur Rahim (40) and Mohammad Nabi (39) are next on this unwanted list.

However, once Rohit got out, Shreyas Iyer (1) also got out cheaply. Although Rishabh Pant (14-ball 27) and Dinesh Karthik (21-ball 46) showed some fight, it was too big of a target to chase.

In the end, contributions from Deepak Chahar (17-ball 31) and Umesh Yadav (20*) took India past the 170-run mark. In the end, India was dismissed for 178 runs in 18.3 overs and lost by 49 runs. Rilee Rossouw won the "Player of the Match" for his brilliant century and Suryakumar Yadav was adjudged "Man of the Series". Both teams will not play a three-match ODI series.

From around the web

Trending Videos