BCCI announce Indian team Test Squad for New Zealand series, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah rested

Indian cricket team Test squad for New Zealand Test series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Indian cricket team selectors have announced the Indian Test team for the upcoming 2 match Test series against New Zealand. Newly appointed T20 captain Rohit Sharma along with some other top quality players have been given a rest, with Virat Kohli set to join the team from the 2nd match.

The Indian cricket team's senior selection committee has announced the Indian cricket team's Test squad that play in the upcoming 2 match Test series against New Zealand as part of the World Test Championship 2021-2023 cylcle.

The squad sees top Indian players being rested after being long part of the bio-bubble, from the World Test Championship 2021 Final till the IPL 2021.

Among the top players are the newly announced Indian T20 captain Rohit Sharma, pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami, wicketkeeper batsman Rishabh Pant.

Axar Patel replaces keeps his place in the squad after impressing in the home Test series against England earlier this year in February, picking up 27 wickets from 3 matches.

Off-spin bowler Jayant Yadav has also been called-up to team. Jayant Yadav last played a Test match back in 2017 against Australia. The Delhi born player has picked up only 11 wickets from 4 matches in his Test career.

In the batting department, Hanuman Vihari has been dropped, without mentioning anything. Shubman Gill is back into the team after recovering from the injury that he suffered during the England series in July. Wriddhiman Saha has been included as the first-choice wicketkeeper, while KS Bharat will the backup.

Prasidh Krishna could be making his debut as he joins the pace bowling lineup that includes Mohammed Siraj, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav.

KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer also finds their place into the team, Suryakumar Yadav, who was included for the England series, has been dropped, after impressing everyone ever since making his debut. Mayank Agarwal could form the opening partnership with Shubman Gill.

Ajinkya Rahane to Captain First Test Match

Indian Test team's vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane will be leading the team in the first match, while Cheteshwar Pujara, who has also retained his place, will be his deputy, before Virat Kohli takes over as captain from the 2nd Test.

India's Test Squad for New Zealand Series:

Ajinkya Rahane (1st Test Captain, Vice-Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (1st Test Vice-Captain), Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (WicketKeeper), KS Bharat, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishan Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Virat Kohli (2nd Test Only).

From around the web

Trending Videos