Mohammed Shami ruled out of Bangladesh ODIs; India's fastest bowler joins the squad as replacement

Mohammed Shami ruled out of Bangladesh ODIs; India's fastest bowler joins the squad as replacement

India is on a tour of Bangladesh for three ODIs and two Tests. The ODI series will begin on Sunday, December 4 at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka. However, just ahead of the first ODI, India suffered a huge blow.

The injury list for the Indian team has gotten wider as another name has been added to it. This time, veteran pacer Mohammed Shami has been injured during a training session ahead of the first ODI. Furthermore, the reports also confirm that he is also likely to miss the two tests starting on December 14.

BCCI secretary Jah Shah said in a press release that "fast bowler Mohd. Shami sustained a shoulder injury during a training session in the lead up to the ODI series against Bangladesh. He is currently under the supervision of the BCCI Medical Team at the NCA, Bengaluru and will not be able to take part in the three-match series."

However, India has also named the replacement for the veteran pacer, and the selection committee has named the Kashmir-born pacer Umran Malik as his replacement for the ODI series.

Umran was part of the recently concluded tour of New Zealand. He also bowled well, picking up three wickets in two ODI innings for India. That means he, along with Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, and Kuldeep Sen, will be the pacers for Team India.

Shami is a key player for the Indian team going ahead in the 2023 ODI World Cup in India, and his not playing in the two Tests against Bangladesh will be a big miss because Bumrah is also not part of the series, and India must win those games in order to stay alive in the WTC cycle.

Shami has taken 216 wickets in 60 Tests and 152 wickets in 82 ODIs. Umran, on the other hand, is the fastest Indian bowler in the current Indian team and is looking to cement his place in the squad.

India's ODI Sqaud: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Ahmed, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik

From around the web

Trending Videos