Watch: "Bowled or Not"- Hardik Pandya gets out after a controversial decision by third umpire vs NZ

Watch: "Bowled or Not"- Hardik Pandya gets out after a controversial decision by third umpire vs NZ

The first ODI between India and New Zealand has broken a few records. Batting first, India scored yet another 330-plus total, and it was India's fourth successive 300-plus total batting first. India posted a huge total of 349/8 in their 50 overs.

The man of the moment is Shubman Gill, who smashed the first double century of his career off just 144 balls. He scored 208 runs off 149 balls, with 19 fours and nine sixes, when the next best was just 34 runs from Rohit Sharma.

However, with multiple records broken in the first inning, one controversial decision also took place when Hardik Pandya was given out, which sparked the controversy. Despite the fact that it was unclear whether the bail fell off with the connection with the keeper's gloves or not, the third umpire gave him out bowled.

The incident took place on the fourth ball of the 40th over when Daryl Mitchell was bowling. Hardik tried to dab a ball towards third-man for a single and missed the ball. The ball went to Tom Latham's gloves, and the bail came off. The keeper appealed for the bowled dismissal, and after successive replays, the third umpire gave him out.

That decision sparked debate over social media. Hardik's wicket made a huge difference to the Indian total, and he was looking good at 28 runs with three boundaries. His presence could have made a difference for India in the final overs of the inning.

However, Gill changed his gears in the final overs and smashed the Kiwi bowlers to all parts of the ground. He completed his double century with three consecutive sixes off Lockie Ferguson in the 49th over. Gill also became the youngest batter to score a double century and the fifth Indian to achieve this landmark in the game. New Zealand need to chase a target of 350 runs to win the first ODI.

From around the web

Trending Videos