Daryl Mitchell replaces injured Devon Conway for India Test Series

Daryl Mitchell replace Devon Conway for India Test series

New Zealand cricket association has named Daryl Mitchell as the replacement for injured Devon Conway for the upcoming Test series against India, that will begin from the 25th November.

New Zealand middle order batsman Devon Conway, who was initially named in New Zealand's squad for the Test against India, suffered a broken hand due to his own deed during the ongoing T20 World Cup 2021.

Devon Conway, who was playing an instrumental role for the New Zealand side in the T20 World Cup 2021 and in the Semi-Final against England, hit his own hand on the bat after getting dismissed, resulting in breaking his own hand, ruling him out from the T20 World Cup 2021 Final as well as the India series.

Devon Conway will be replaced by a fellow T20 World Cup 2021 member of the New Zealand team, Daryl Mitchell. Mitchell is mainly a all-rounder but has opened the inning for the Blackcaps during the T20 World Cup 2021 being held in UAE and in Oman.

Daryl Mitchell stats

Daryl Mitchell has so far played 5 Test matches for New Zealand, making his debut against England in 2019. In the 5 matches, he has scored 232 runs, with the batting average of 58.00, mainly playing lower down the order as a all-rounder. However, he has managed only 1 wicket.

The 30-year-old has played 81 first-class matches, mainly playing for Northern Districts and transferred to Canterbury in 2020. He has scored 4278 runs in those 81 first-class matches and has picked up 89 wickets.

India vs New Zealand Series

New Zealand cricket team, before they fly off for their next destination in India, have got the T20 World Cup 2021 final to deal with. The Blackcaps will be up against Australia in the final on the 14th November, Sunday. They will fly off for India the next day on Monday.

The series against India will consist of 3 T20 International matches followed by 2 Test matches. The T20I's kick-off with the 1st match on 17th November in Jaipur. The other 2 T20Is will be played on the 19th and 21st November. The Test matches will be played from 25th to 29th November and that will be followed by the 2nd match from 3rd December till 7th December.

From around the web

Trending Videos