Here's why Ravi Bishnoi was given not-out by umpire for backing too far, despite Harshal's direct hit
The game between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Lucknow Super Giants on Monday was not without drama. It had everything for the fans. Eventually, it ended with a nail-biting finish, and LSG held their nerve to pull off a 1-wicket win over RCB.
They also chased down the fourth-highest total in the IPL, and it was the third time that RCB was not able to defend a total of 200 or above. Although Harshal Patel pulled off a brilliant win in the last over, Dinesh Karthik made a fumble, and LSG's last pair collected the winning run.
LSG needed one run off the last ball to win the game. That moment saw the real drama. Harshal Patel tried to run out Ravi Bishnoi, who was backing too far at the bowler's end. The pacer stopped for a mankad run-out but wasn't able to dislodge the bails.
After missing the stumps, Harshal threw the ball at the stumps, and Bishnoi was still out of the crease. But despite the ball hitting the stumps, the on-field umpire called it not out. The on-field umpire didn't even refer it to the third umpire for confirmation, which raised a few questions.
But according to the 22.214.171.124 law of the MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club), "'Even if the non-striker had left his/her ground before the instant at which the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, once the bowler has reached that point it is no longer possible for the bowler to run out the non-striker under this Law."
It means the bowler had completed his bowling action, which made his through to the stumps on the bowler's end illegal. However, if the pacer had hit the stumps on his first attempt in his run-up, the game would have ended in a tie.
But his mistake and the fielding error from Karthik didn't let the RCB save the game. LSG registered their third win out of four games, while RCB suffered their second loss in a row.