Watch: Sri Lanka mocked Bangladesh with "Naagin dance" after the win in Asia Cup 2022

Watch: Sri Lanka mocked Bangladesh with "Naagin dance" after their win

On Thursday, all the cricket lovers were treated to one of the most epic games of 2022. It was a do or die game between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh which ended with so much tension, emotion, and excitement. The game went to the very last over of the match and it was Sri Lanka who held their nerves.

As a result, they clinched the victory by just two wickets and became the third team to qualify for the "Super Four" stage of the Asia Cup 2022. It didn't look like Sri Lanka might get over the line till the 18th over of the chase. But the last two overs totally changed the game for Sri Lanka.

It was a virtual knock-out game, and both teams gave their 100 percent to win the match. Batting first, Bangladesh made a good total of 183/7 in their batting innings. Sri Lanka also started well but lost the momentum in the middle.

They lost regular wickets. They needed 26 runs from the last two overs. However, it didn't go as per plan for Bangladesh and both Ebadot Hossain and Mahedi Hasan, who bowled the 19th and 20th over, bowled a few no-balls, which resulted in extra runs and extra deliveries for the Sri Lankan batters.

As a result, Sri Lanka scored those 26 runs off just eight balls and won the match by two wickets. With this loss, Shakib Al Hasan and his team were eliminated from the Asia Cup 2022. After the win, all the players from the Sri Lankan camp looked animated, and all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne did the "Naagin Dance" celebration.

Sri Lankan fans were also seen doing the infamous "Naagin Dance" in the stands to mock the Bangladeshi team. The infamous "Naagin" celebration was first done in the 2018 Nidhas Trophy, when Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka. It was Mushfiqur Rahim who made his gesture.

Later, Bangladesh defeated Sri Lanka once again to advance to the final of the same tournament, and all the Bangladeshi players were seen doing the "Naagin Dance."

Three of the four teams for the next round have been decided. For the fourth spot, Pakistan and Hong Kong will play on Friday, September 2. Whoever wins the match will join India, Afghanistan, and Sri Lanka in the next round.

From around the web

Trending Videos