Mitchell Starc becomes the fastest bowler to achieve a rare feat in ODI in 3rd ODI vs ZIM

Mitchell Starc becomes the fastest bowler to achieve a rare feat in ODI in 3rd ODI vs ZIM

The third game of the three-match ODI series ended with a historic win for Zimbabwe against the mighty Australian side at Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville. The visitors registered their first ever win in Australia against Australia in the history of the game.

The Zimbabwe bowlers did an amazing job by dismissing the full-strength Australian batting line-up for just 141 runs in 31 overs. David Warner did the bulk of the scoring and made 94 off 96 balls, while Glenn Maxwell scored 19 runs. None of the other batters touched the 10-run mark.

For Zimbabwe all-rounder Ryan Burl, he created history by picking up the second fastest five-wicket haul in ODI cricket. He bowled just three overs and picked up a 5/10. Former Sri Lankan pacer Chaminda Vaas held this record of picking five wickets in just 16 balls.

In response, Zimbabwe also struggled to bat against the Australian bowling attack and lost seven wickets. But in the end, skipper Regis Chakabva kept his cool and helped his team cross the line. He remained unbeaten for 37* runs off 72 balls. Josh Hazlewood picked up three, while Ashton Agar, Marcus Stoinis, Cameron Green and Mitchell Starc took one wicket each.

However, despite the loss, there was one piece of good news for Australia, as speedster Mitchell Starc achieved a rare feat in ODI cricket. He dismissed Ryan Burl in the 37th over and picked up his 200th ODI wicket of his career. With this wicket, he also broke the record of former Pakistani spinner Saqlain Mushtaq.

Saqlain took his 200th wicket in 104 ODI matches, while Starc made this remarkable achievement in 102 matches and became the fastest bowler to do so. Brett Lee (112) and Allan Donald (117) are the third and fourth bowlers on this list.

Zimbabwe won the third game, while Australia won the series 2-1. Notably, this was the first series for Zimbabwe in Australia since 2004. Ryan Burl won the "Man of the Match" and Adam Zampa won the "Man of the Series".

From around the web

Trending Videos