Watch: BCCI to bring back the "Vintage" Sky-Blue Indian Jersey for T20 World Cup

Watch: BCCI to bring back the "Vintage" Sky-Blue Indian Jersey for T20 WC

On Monday, the selection committee led by Chetan Sharma announced the 15-player squad for India, which will feature in the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia next month. Most of the players that played in the Asia Cup are the same, while Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patek made their comebacks.

However, a few omissions were shocking by the selectors. They tried to pick the best all-round options for them after looking at their performance in the last few multi-national tournaments. Apart from squads, the BCCI also dropped a hint about the new kit for the Indian team for the marquee tournament.

The BCCI shared a video clip featuring skipper Rohit Sharma, Shreyas Iyer and Hardik Pandya asking the fans to visit the website of the Indian team's official kit sponsor MPL and share their feedback.

The video was shared with the caption, "The game is not really the same without you guys cheering us on! Show your fandom for the game by sharing your fan moments."

Speaking of the Indian team for the World Cup, the veteran pacer Mohammed Shami has missed the ticket to Australia. However, he is on the standby list along with Deepak Chahar, Ravi Bishnoi, and Shreyas Iyer. India has gone with four pacers: Bumrah, Harshal, Bhuvneshwar and Arshdeep.

Notably, the final changes to a team can be made till October 10. Shami, who is part of the squad for the upcoming home series against Australia and South Africa, still has a chance. The three-match T20I series against Australia will start on September 20, while the three T20Is against the Proteas will kick off on September 28.

India's squad for T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (Vc), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav,  Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (Wk), Dinesh Karthik (Wk), Ravi Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players: Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

From around the web

Trending Videos