Sanju Samson to lead India in 3 ODIs series vs New Zealand: BCCI announces India A squad

Sanju Samson to lead India in 3 ODIs series vs New Zealand: BCCI announces India A squad

India A is set to play a three-match ODI series against New Zealand A starting on September 22. On Friday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a 16-member squad that will represent India A against New Zealand A. Notably, all three ODIs will be played at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Well, after missing a spot in the World Cup squad for India, wicket-keeper batsman Sanju Samson was named the captain of the Indian A team. He will be leading the side with some really brilliant names against the Black Caps.

The news comes as a relief to fans who were perplexed by the Kerala-born cricketer's exclusion from the upcoming T20 World Cup, which begins next month in Australia. The India A side consists of some of the top upcoming superstars who are doing wonders on the domestic circuit.

The three-match red-ball series between India A and New Zealand A is underway. The third test is underway after the first two games ended in a draw. Both teams have performed exceptionally well, with some incredible performances from the Indian side.

On Thursday, Ruturaj Gaikwad scored an impressive century and made 108 off 127 balls. India A scored 293 runs in their first innings and bowled New Zealand A out for 237 runs, taking a healthy lead of 56 runs on Day 2 of the third and final unofficial Test at Bengaluru.

Speaking of the India A squad for the three-match ODI series, the team has the likes of Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tripathi, Gaikwad, and Rajat Patidar in the top order. Shahbaz Ahmed, Raj Angad Bawa, and Tilak Verma are the two all-round options. Rahul Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav are the main spinners.

Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik, and Navdeep Saini will do the pace bowling duties. The three ODIs will be played on September 22, 25, and 27 respectively.

Squad for India A: Sanju Samson (C), Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, KS Bharat (wk), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Shahbaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Raj Angad Bawa, Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik, Navdeep Saini.

From around the web

Trending Videos