ICC picks three Indian players for its "Most Valuable Team of Tournament"

ICC picks three Indian players for its "Most Valuable Team of Tournament"

After a competitive month of cricket, England has emerged as the new World T20 champion. They defeated Pakistan in the final by five wickets to lift their second T20 World title. This tournament saw a number of incredible performances in both the batting and bowling departments.

And the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the "Most Valuable Team of the Tournament" after England's win over Pakistan on Sunday. The ICC picked up top performers from the tournament, and this team also includes three Indian players.

Four players have been picked from the title winning team, England. It has both English openers, Alex Hales and Jos Buttler, to open the innings. Then, two English pacers, Sam Curran and Mark Wood, are also on the team. Notanly, Curran also ended up winning the "Player of the Tournament" award.

The ICC has chosen two batting pillars from Team India for the team. Former Indian captain Virat Kohli finished with the most runs, followed by star batter Suryakumar Yadav, who finished third in the tournament.

Virat scored 296 runs in 6 innings at an incredible average of 98.67, including four half-centuries. SKY made a total of 239 runs at an unbelievable strike rate of 189.68 with three half-centuries. Apart from these two, the Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been picked as the 12th man.

Pandya did an amazing job with both bat and ball. He took 8 wickets in six innings and was also the third-highest run scorer for the team in the tournament. He smashed a 33-ball 63 in the semi-final against England, which led India to a competitive total of 168.

Alex Hales was also good at the top, along with Buttler. Hales made 212 runs in six innings, while Buttler ended up with 225 runs at an average of 45 and a strike rate of 144.23. Zimbabwe's veteran all-rounder Sikandar Raza also makes the team, and he did an incredible job.

He scored 219 runs at a strike rate of 147.97 and also took 10 wickets at an economy rate of 6.50. New Zealand's middle order batter Glenn Philips also made the team, scoring 201 runs in five innings with a century. South African pacer Anrich Nortje, who picked up 11 wickets in five games, was also in the team. From Pakistan, Shaheen Afridi (11 wickets) and Shadab Khan (11 wickets) also in the team.

Most Valuable Team of the Tournament: Alex Hales (ENG), Jos Buttler (ENG) (c/wk), Virat Kohli (IND), Suryakumar Yadav (IND), Glenn Philips (NZ), Sikander Raza (ZIM), Shadab Khan (PAK), Sam Curran (ENG), Arich Nortje (SA), Mark Wood (ENG), Shaheen Afridi (PAK)

12th Man: Hardik Pandya (IND)

From around the web

Trending Videos