ICC announce Venues for T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia

T20 World Cup 2022 venues announced

The T20 World Cup 2021 is done and dusted with the Australian team lifting the Trophy at the end of an exciting month of cricket. But the action doesn't stop here as we will be heading the Champions' home next year for another cracker of T20 World Cup.

Australia is set to host the T20 World Cup next year which originally scheduled to be played before the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup, in 2020. But the plan was changed owing to the COVID-19 situation around the world.

Australia will be in task of defending the Trophy that they won this year, in home field next year in home T20 World Cup. International Cricket Council has today confirmed the venues for the T20 World Cup 2022 to be hosted by Australia.

Seven cities have been named to play host of the T20 World Cup 2022. The mentioned cities are, Melbourne, Perth, Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide, Hobart and Geelong.

The competition will begin from the 16th of October and the Final will be played on the 13th of November at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). The two semi-finals will be played on the 9th and 10th of November at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and at the Adelaide Oval.

The teams who have directly qualified for the T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12 round are the winner of the T20 World Cup 2021 Australia, as the Champion and Host, they will be joined by finalist New Zealand.

Other than them, the 6 other teams are India, England, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. Sri Lanka, West Indies, Namibia and Scotland will take part in the round 1 of the T20 World Cup 2022. They will be joined by 4 other teams through various qualifying rounds. And at the end of Round 1's play, four teams will qualify for Super 12 round.

T20 World Cup 2021 Final

Talking about T20 World Cup 2021 Final, Australia defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets to clinch their first ever T20 World Cup trophy.

David Warner and Mitchell Marsh played a key role in guiding the Aussies to their first trophy in the shortest format of the game. Warner scored 53 runs and Mitchell Marsh scored 77 runs not out. Both stiched together a strong partnership of 92 runs for the 2nd wicket, which ensured an easy win for Australia.

From around the web

Trending Videos