ICC Has Announced Four Nominations For Men's T20I Player Of The Year

Men's t20I Player 2021

ICC has named the four nominations for Men's T20I Player of the Year for 2021. This year has been an important one with regards to T20 cricket. The T20 World Cup had to happen in 2020 in India. However, owing to the pandemic, it was pushed to 2021. It is after five years that the competition happened. Australia won the tournament.

The four nominations to the honour

Jos Buttler, Mohammad Rizwan, Mitchell Marsh, and Wanindu Hasaranga are the four players who have been named as the nominees for the 2021 Men's T20I Player of the Year Award. Considering the numbers and the impact of the performances, the selections seem justified.

All four nominees had an impactful year in 2021

Jos Buttler, the English wicket-keeper batsman, had a stellar year in 2021. With the bat, the Englishman scored 589 runs in 14 encounters. These runs came at a strike rate of 143 and an average of 65. Buttler also struck a century in the recent T20 World Cup.

Rizwan was a revelation in the year 2021. He managed to score a total of 1326 runs in the 29 games that he played in the year. The Pakistan wicket-keeper was one of the main reasons why the country did well in T20Is this year. Rizwan scored more than 2000 runs across the T20 format this year.

Wanindu Hasaranga has been doing well in recent years and 2021 happened to be his best. He was the highest wicket-taker, collecting 36 wickets in the 20 games. The Sri Lankan all-rounder also scored 196 runs in 2021.

Mitchell Marsh, despite the talent, had found it hard in international cricket. However, after taking up the No.3 spot in T20's, he has found form. He first did well in Bangladesh and won the Player of the Match award in the final of the 2021 T20 World Cup. Deservedly, he has also been nominated for the award.

From around the web

Trending Videos