ICC WTC 2021-23: Team India's schedule

Tim Paine India

After losing the first-ever WTC Final to New Zealand, the Indian cricket team will now try to better its performance in the second edition of the tournament. The second season of ICC World Test Championship will begin in June 2021 and go on till 2023. 

The second WTC Final will happen in the year 2023. The Indian cricket team will be one of the favorites to win the tournament again. In the last five years, the Indian cricket team has attained the first position in the ICC Rankings. 

Here’s a look at the Indian cricket team’s WTC schedule from 2021 to 2023: 

India Tour of England, 2021

August 4-8: England vs India, First Test, Trent Bridge

August 12-16: England vs India, Second Test, Lord's

August 25-29: England vs India, Third Test, Headingley

September 2-6: England vs India, Fourth Test, Kennington Oval

September 10-14: England vs India, Fifth Test, Old Trafford

New Zealand Tour of India: 2 Tests, November 2021

India Tour of South Africa: 3 Tests, December 2021-January 2022

Sri Lanka Tour of India: 3 Tests, March 2022

Australia Tour of India: Border-Gavaskar Trophy, 4 Tests, October-November 2022

India Tour of Bangladesh: 2 Tests, November 2022 

Which will be the toughest series for India in the 2021-23 ICC WTC Cycle?

Team India’s overseas tours are England, South Africa and Bangladesh in the 2021-23 ICC WTC Cycle. The conditions in Bangladesh are almost similar to India. Hence, India will not face any issues while playing in that series. 

However, the conditions in South Africa and England will assist pace bowlers. England will be a threat to India, but South Africa will likely not be equally threatening because the Proteas are no longer as strong as they were once upon a time. 

Speaking of India’s home series, the series against Australia and New Zealand should be a competitive one. 


From around the web

Trending Videos