Marco Jansen gets Maiden Call-Up as CSA Announce South Africa ODI Squad for India Series

Marco Jansen debut South Africa ODI vs India 2022

The Cricket South Africa (CSA) and its selectors have today announced the South African team squad for the upcoming ODI series against India, beginning from the 19th of January.

While India and South Africa continue to battle in the ongoing Test series, the South African cricket board, Cricket South Africa (CSA) has today announced a 17-man squad for the One Day International (ODI) series to follow the Test series.

Young left-arm pacer Marco Jansen is the biggest headline in the squad as the 21-year-old, who is also currently part of the Test squad, has been called up to the South African ODI squad for the first time.

Marco Jansen has got a interesting and has made a name for himself in the South African domestic cricket, as a result of which, the South African left-arm pacer was bought by the Mumbai Indians during the IPL Auction in 2021. He also played in 2 matches for the Mumbai side and picked up 2 wickets as well.

While talking about his domestic stats, Jansen has picked up 75 wickets from 20 first-class matches. He also has 16 wickets in One Day and 9 wickets in T20 cricket for his domestic side.

Jansen made his Test cricket debut only in the previous Test match, i.e. the Boxing Day Test against India. He bagged 5 wickets in total in that match.

Temba Bavuma will continue to lead the side in the One Day International cricket, while Quinton de Kock, who just announced his retirement from Test cricket at the age of just 29-year, have also been included in the squad.

Left-arm pacer Wayne Parnell, who made his return to South Africa team during the Netherlands series, has kept his slot in the team, while Zubayr Hamza, who made his debut during the series, has also retained his position.

The South Africa ODI Squad is as Follows:

Temba Bavuma (C), Keshav Maharaj (VC), Quinton de Kock, Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne.

From around the web

Trending Videos