Women's Premier League: BCCI received a whopping amount of INR 4699.99 crore: Check out details of allย five WPL franchise owners

Women's Premier League: BCCI received a whopping amount of INR 4699.99 crore: Check out details of all five WPL franchise owners

On Wednesday, a brand new chapter was added to the Indian cricket industry, and this time not in men's cricket but in women's cricket, which will surely provide an excellent platform for India's women cricketers to compete among the world's best female cricketers.

The start of the Women's IPL took its biggest step on Wednesday with the successful bidding procedure for the five franchises. Only a few days after selling the WIPL's media rights for a whopping INR 951 crore, the BCCI announced that the women's league will be known as the Women's Premier League (WPL).

The Indian Board received a wholesome amount of INR 4699.99 crore from the five bidders that won the franchise ownership for the WPL. Notably, it was Adani Sportsline that made the biggest bid among the five winning franchises. They won the ownership of the Ahmedabad team for an amount of INR 1289 crore.

Indiawin Sports was the next highest bidder. They won the ownership of the Mumbai franchise at a price of INR 912.99 crore. Meanwhile, the Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise from the men's IPL was the only franchise to win ownership of a team in the WPL.

JSW GMR Cricket and Capri Global Holdings were the other two franchise owners, who won the team's rights for the Delhi and Lucknow franchises for a price of INR 810 and 757 crores, respectively. The BCCI secretary, Jay Shah, confirmed it on Twitter. He wrote about the whopping price gathered after five successful bids.

It would come as a surprise, but the bid amount of the inaugural WPL even surpassed the bid amount received for the inaugural season of the men's IPL in 2008.

List of franchise owners for the Women's Premier League:

  • Ahmedabad franchise for Rs. 1289 crores to Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd.
  • Mumbai franchise for Rs. 912.99 crores to lndiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd.
  • Bengaluru franchise for Rs. 901 crores to Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd.
  • Delhi franchise for Rs. 810 crores to JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd.
  • Lucknow franchise for Rs. 757 crores to Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd.

From around the web

Trending Videos