New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson to skip India T20I matches, Tim Southee to be Captain

Kane Williamson to skip India T20 matches, further focus on Test matches

With a disappointing end to their campaign in the T20 World Cup 2021, New Zealand will now face off India in 3 match T20Is and 2 Test matches. But before that, New Zealand have announced that Kane Williamson won't take part in the T20I matches.

New Zealand cricket team suffered a defeat to Australia in the Final of the T20 World Cup 2021, played on the 14th of November, Sunday. Australia chased down New Zealand's set target of 173 runs with 8 wickets still in hand. 

For Australia, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh shone for the Aussies as they scored 53 and 77 runs, taking the match away from New Zealand's hand. Earlier, Kane Williamson played a brilliant knock of 85 runs to lead New Zealand to finish their inning on 172 runs.

The next assignment for New Zealand is against India after the heartbreaking defeat in the Final, that made sure that New Zealand is yet to win any major World Cup events.

In a recent development today, New Zealand cricket team have announced that their captain Kane Williamson will skip the T20I matches to further focus on the Test matches to come against India, following the 3 T20Is.

Kane Williamson is a very essential member of the New Zealand team, and that he proved in the Final match, stepping up his performance a notch, but just fell short.

Tim Southee to Captain New Zealand in T20Is

In Kane Williamson's absence, veteran bowler for the Blackcaps, Tim Southee will lead the team in the 3 T20 International matches matches. However, Kane Williamson will be back on full duty for the Test matches.

India vs New Zealand series details

The India vs New Zealand series will kick-off from the 17th of November with the 1st T20I match in Jaipur. That will be followed by the 2 matches on the 19th and on the 21st of November.

The first of the two Test matches will begin from 25th November till 29th November in Kanpur, while the 2nd match will begin from 3rd December till 7th December in Mumbai.

From around the web

Trending Videos