Sunil Gavaskar Picks His Squad For The T20 World Cup; Leaves Out A Few Big Names


On Wednesday, Team India's squad for the T20 World Cup will be announced. The event will take place in UAE and Oman from October 17th. India will start as firm favourites although there are still a few issues in the squad. In this article, we take a look at the 15-member squad that Sunil Gavaskar has selected for Team India.

India will be under pressure to win the trophy

Team India has not won an ICC event for a long time. Hence, the men in blue will be under pressure to lift the upcoming T20 World Cup. Moreover, the country has had talents coming through from the IPL, which is less for other nations. Considering all these factors, India will be under pressure to win the event.

Sunil Gavaskar leaves out a few big names in the squad

In an interview with Sports Tak, former cricketer Sunil Gavaskar has given his verdict on who must represent India at the T20 World Cup. Amongst the names that he has excluded includes Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer. Gavaskar has instead opined that Virat Kohli must be India's first-choice opener while Krunal Pandya should get a chance as the extra all-rounder.

Gavaskar has chosen five pacers and opted for the unit without T Natarajan. In Gavaskar's squad, Yuzvendra Chahal is the sole specialist spinner. He has excluded the likes of Rahul Chahar and Varun CV, who are in contention for the spot.  Four all-rounders have been chosen and Krunal Pandya, surprisingly, makes it to the list. Gavaskar cited the elder Pandya's experience as the reason behind the decision.

Sunil Gavaskar's 15-member squad for India: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (C), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur and Yuzvendra Chahal.

From around the web

Trending Videos