Yash Dhull named Captain as BCCI announce India U19 Squad for U19 World Cup 2022

Yash Dhull India U19 World Cup 2022 Captain

Less than 30 days are and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the All India Junior Selection Committee has today announced the Indian Under 19 team's squad for the upcoming Under19 World Cup in 2022 to be held in West Indies.

The latest edition of the ICC U19 World Cup, the U19 World Cup 2022 is set to played from January the 14th till the 5th of February. The Indian cricket team is the most successful team in competition.

India has won the competition four times, while finished runners up in the previous 3 editions. India has won the competition in the year 2000, in 2008 under Virat Kohli, in 2012 under Unmukt Chand and in 2018 under the leadership of Prithvi Shaw.

Team India finished as the runners-up in the 2016 edition of the tournament and most recently in the 2020 edition held in New Zealand.

The youth team has given the Indian senior team a number of talented players, to name a few, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Prithvi Shaw. And the current batch will also hope to make a name for themselves through the tournament.

The India U19 squad will be lead by Yash Dhull in the U19 World Cup 2022. Dhull comes from Delhi and is almost on the brink of breaking into the Delhi senior team. His deputy will be SK Rasheed who is registered with Andra Cricket Association.

The squad features 3 players each registered under the Maharashtra Cricket Association and Haryana Cricket Association, while 2 players registered under Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association.

The squad mainly includes 17 players, but there will be 5 standby players traveling with the team. The squad is as follows:

India U19 World Cup 2022 Squad

Yash Dhull (C), SK Rasheed (VC), Dinesh Bana (WK), Aaradhya Yadav (WK), Harnoor Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Siddarth Yadav, Nishant Sindhu, Aneeshwar Gautam,
Raj Angad Bawa, Manav Parakh, Kaushal Tambe, RS Hangargekar, Vasu Vats, Vicky Ostwal, Ravikumar, Garv Sangwan

Standby Players: Rishit Reddy, Uday Saharan, Ansh Gosai, Amrit Raj Upadhyay, PM Singh Rathore

Team India will kick-off their U19 World Cup 2022 campaign against South Africa on the 15th of January and then will face off Ireland and Uganda on the 19th and 22nd January respectively.

India have been placed in Group B, and top 2 teams from each group will make it to the Super League, while the remaining teams will feature in the Plate.

From around the web

Trending Videos