PKL 2021: List of players Retained and Released by U Mumba

Fazel Atrachali

The VIVO Pro Kabaddi League is upon us as the much-awaited Pro Kabaddi League auction is set to take place from 29th August, and before that, all the teams have named the players who have been retained or released.

Today, we look at the list of players who have been retained or released by U Mumba going into the auction. You can also check out the list of players retained or released by Bengal Warriors by clicking here.

Retention Rules: The VIVO Pro Kabaddi League allows up to 12 players maximum to be retained for the next season, of which a maximum of 6 elite players (who are experienced PKL players) can be retained while a maximum of 6 young players (who have come through the young player program) can be retained.

The biggest name that U Mumba has retained is the defender and the most experienced overseas player, the Iranian Fazel Atrachali. This is Fazel Atrachali's 2nd stint as a U Mumba player, having represented them in 2015 and 2016, season 2 and season 3, respectively.

He then joined Patna Pirates in 2016 and Gujarat FortuneGiants in 2017. He then returned to U Mumba in 2018. Fazel Atrachali has played 103 matches in the PKL and has scored 317 tackle points.

Another vital player who has been retained as Elite Retained Player is the raider, Abhishek Singh. Abhishek Singh debuted in 2018 and enjoyed a successful season, having scored 53 total points, and then the following season, he bettered the record, scoring 163 total points.

Ajinkya Rohidas Kapre, Harendra Kumar joins Fazel Atrachali and Abhishek Singh as the Elite Retained Players, while Navneet has been retained as Existing New Young Player.

The big-name that is outgoing from U Mumba is Sandeep Narwal. The experienced All-Rounder has been part of the Pro Kabaddi League ever since its inception in 2014. He was part of the Patna Pirates for the first three seasons and then joined Telugu Titans.

Sandeep Narwal joined U Mumba for season 7 of the Pro Kabaddi League in 2019. He scored a total of 76 points for U Mumba that season. They have let go of defender Surinder Singh, who scored 58 total points for U Mumba last season and a total of 178 points in his PKL career.

U Mumba Retained Players:

 Abhishek Singh (Raider), Ajinkya Rohidas Kapre (All-Rounder), Harendra Kumar (Defender), Fazel Atrachali (Defender), Navneet (Raider)

U Mumba Released Players:

 Arjun Deshwal (Raider), Athul MS (Raider), Dong Geon Lee (Raider), Gaurav Kumar (Raider), Rohit Baliyan (Raider), Vinoth Kumar (Raider), Rajaguru Subramanian (Defender), Harsh Vardhan (Defender), Anil (Defender), Young Chang Ko (Defender),Surinder Singh (Defender), Sandeep Narwal (All-Rounder), Mohit Baliyan (All-Rounder)

From around the web

Trending Videos