CSK CLT20 2010 Winning Team: Where are They Now?

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are among the best T20 teams all around the world. They have three IPL titles and two CLT20 titles to their name, which displays the franchise's legacy.

CSK became the first team to clinch IPL titles and the CLT20 title in the same year. They achieved this feat in 2010, defeating Mumbai Indians in the IPL finals and Warriors in the CLT20 finals. CSK had one of the best squads in the global league which helped them reach glory.

On that note, let's look at the winning team of CSK's CLT20 campaign and where the players are now.

Top Order Batsmen of CSK's CLT20 2010 Squad: Srikkanth Anirudha, Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Murali Vijay  

Srikkanth Anirudha was a part of CSK squad from 2008-2012. He then moved to Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) for the next two seasons. He hasn't played for India yet and was last seen playing in TNPL 2019 for Tiruppur Tamizhans. Matthew Hayden was a crucial player in the CSK squad. The Australian was one of the best openers in world cricket, who announced his retirement in 2012.

Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay were the stars of the CLT20 2010 final as they smashed half-centuries to help CSK clinch the trophy. Hussey is currently the batting coach of CSK, whereas Vijay went unsold ahead of IPL 2021.

Middle Order Batsmen: S Badrinath, Suresh Raina

Subramaniam Badrinath was a dependable middle-order batter for CSK. He has played some crucial knocks for the team over the years. Badrinath announced his retirement in 2018 and currently works as a commentator.

Suresh Raina has been a pillar of CSK since its inception. He is popularly known as Mr. IPL for his immense contribution to the league. Raina announced his retirement from international cricket in 2020 but is currently a part of CSK's squad for IPL 2021.

Captain and Wicketkeeper of CSK's CLT20 2010 Squad: MS Dhoni

One of the most successful captains worldwide, MS Dhoni, is the face of CSK. He has been leading the side since 2008 and has led them to glory on several occasions. Dhoni, too retired alongside Raina in 2020 and will once again lead CSK in IPL 2021.

All-rounders: Ravichandran Ashwin, Justin Kemp, Albie Morkel

Ravichandran Ashwin was a part of the CSK squad from 2008-2015 and tasted success on multiple occasions. He was brilliant in the CLT20 final aiding CSK to clinch the trophy. Currently, he is a member of the Delhi Capitals squad for the IPL 2021.

Justin Kemp was a decent all-rounder who played for CSK in 2010 and 2011. He last played Antigua Hawksbills in the Caribbean Premier League 2013.

Albie Morkel represented CSK from 2008-2013 before playing for RCB, DD, and RPSG. He was last seen donning the jersey of Durban Heat in Mzansi Super League T20 2018.

Spinners: Muttiah Muralitharan, Shadab Jakati

Muttiah Muralitharan is the most successful bowler in cricket. He was a part of the CSK squad until 2010 and played a crucial role in CSK's CLT20 title triumph in that year. Currently, he is working as the bowling coach of Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2021.

Shadab Jakati had delivered some important spells for CSK before playing for RCB and Gujarat Lions. He retired in 2019 before being named as the director of cricket operations of the Colombo Kings franchise ahead of the 2020 Lanka Premier League.

Fast Bowlers: Lakshmipathy Balaji, Doug Bollinger, Joginder Sharma

Lakshmipathy Balaji represented CSK from 2008-2010 before plying his trade for KXIP in 2014. Currently, he serves as the bowling coach for CSK in IPL 2021.

Doug Bollinger made a name for himself by giving an exceptional return for CSK in IPL. However, his career was shortened due to injuries, and he had to announce his retirement in 2018.

The star of India's T20 World Cup win in 2007, Joginder Sharma was also a part of CSK's squad in the CLT20 2010. He didn't get opportunities to play for India post-2007 and currently serves as a Deputy Superintendent of police in the Haryana Police.

From around the web

Trending Videos