Rising Pune Supergiant Playing XI in their last match: Where are they now?

Rising Pune Supergiant

Rising Pune Supergiant joined the Indian Premier League in the year 2016. They were one of the replacements for the two suspended Indian Premier League franchises - Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings. Along with RPS, even the Gujarat Lions joined the competition.

In 2016, Rising Pune Supergiants played under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. However, the team failed to make it to the playoffs. In 2017, the name was shortened to Rising Pune Supergiant, and Steve Smith was assigned the reins of the team. RPS qualified for the playoffs in 2017 but lost to Mumbai Indians in the final. It was their last match, and here's a look at their playing XI from that game and where are those players are now.

Openers of Rising Pune Supergiant: Ajinkya Rahane and Rahul Tripathi

Ajinkya Rahane and Rahul Tripathi opened the innings for RPS in the final against MI. While Rahane scored 44 runs, Tripathi lost his wicket for three runs. Both batters are currently playing in IPL 2021. Rahane is representing the Delhi Capitals, and his former opening partner Rahul Tripathi dons the Kolkata Knight Riders jersey.

Middle-order - Steve Smith (c), MS Dhoni (wk) and Manoj Tiwary

Steve Smith was the last batter to score a fifty for the Rising Pune Supergiant. Smith and Rahane both play together for DC now. MS Dhoni is back with the Chennai Super Kings, and recently, CSK became the first team to qualify for IPL 2021 Playoffs. Dhoni has retired from international cricket. Meanwhile, Manoj Tiwary has been away from the IPL. He also entered politics recently.

All-rounders of Rising Pune Supergiant - Dan Christian, Washington Sundar and Shardul Thakur

Dan Christian is currently representing the Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2021. Washington Sundar is also a part of the same franchise but missing the matches due to injury. Shardul Thakur joined CSK after RPS' exit. He is playing under MS Dhoni's leadership.

Bowlers - Lockie Ferguson, Adam Zampa and Jaydev Unadkat

Lockie Ferguson and Jaydev Unadkat led the pace attack of RPS in the final. Ferguson is with KKR right now, while Unadkat plays for Rajasthan Royals. Adam Zampa joined RCB but pulled out of IPL 2021 due to personal reasons.

From around the web

Trending Videos