Strong Playing XI Picking 1 Top Performer for CSK from each season

Albie Morkel and Ruturaj Gaikwad

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have been one of the best performing teams in the history of the Indian Premier League. They have lifted the IPL trophy four times and even won the Champions League T20 on two occasions. Many big names of world cricket have represented Chennai in the IPL.

In this article today, we will form a unique and strong playing XI comprising one player from each season who performed exceptionally well for the Super Kings.

Openers - Matthew Hayden (2009) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (2021)

IPL 2009 Orange Cap winner Matthew Hayden and IPL 2021 Orange Cap winner Ruturaj Gaikwad will open the innings together for this XI. The team will have the left hand-right hand combination with this duo.

Middle Order - Suresh Raina (2011) and MS Dhoni (2019)

CSK's Chinna Thala and Thala will bat in the middle-order. Suresh Raina scored 438 runs in IPL 2011 and starred in CSK's title win, while MS Dhoni was at his best in the 2019 season. The skipper scored 416 runs at an average of 83.20 for the Chennai-based franchise in IPL 2019.

All-rounders - Dwayne Bravo (2013), Ravindra Jadeja (2012), Sam Curran (2020) and Albie Morkel (2008)

Dwayne Bravo picked up 32 wickets in IPL 2013 and set a new record for the most wickets by a bowler in an IPL season. Ravindra Jadeja joined the CSK franchise ahead of the 2012 season and impressed straightaway by scoring 191 runs and picking up 12 wickets. Sam Curran was the top performer for the Chennai Super Kings in their worst IPL season. The England all-rounder scored 186 runs and picked up 113 wickets for the team.

Albie Morkel completes the all-rounders' section. The South African star played a huge role in Chennai's journey to the inaugural IPL Final by scoring 241 runs and scalping 17 wickets.

Bowlers - Muttiah Muralitharan (2010), Shardul Thakur (2018) and Mohit Sharma (2014)

The final three spots are for the two bowlers who were the top wicket-takers in CSK's title-winning campaigns in 2010 and 2018, and the bowler who won the Purple Cap in IPL 2014. They are Muttiah Muralitharan, Shardul Thakur and Mohit Sharma, respectively.

From around the web

Trending Videos