The First T20I Wicket-Taker For Each Top-Ranked Nation

First T20I Wicket-Taker

T20 cricket is very close to the current generation as the format was founded recently. Hence, the history of it is very small, and the proceedings in the format are relatable. So far, thousands of T20 games happen every year, and T20I encounters are now inevitably part of any bilateral tournaments. There is also the occasional World T20 in the scene. In this article, we take a look at the first T20I wicket-taker for each top-flight nation.

England - Darren Gough

The Englishmen clashed with Australia in their first T20I game in 2005. England won the game by 100 runs, and it was Darren Gough's inspired bowling performance that helped them achieve it. The pacer's first victim in the Aussie line-up was Adam Gilchrist.

India - Zaheer Khan

The nation played its first T20I game against South Africa under the leadership of Virender Sehwag. India won the game, and it was Zaheer Khan who was the first T20I wicket-taker for the country. He got South African opener Loots Bosman out for just one run.

New Zealand - Daryl Tuffey

Former Kiwi pacer Daryl Tuffey picked the first scalp in T20 cricket for New Zealand. The player's first victim was Michael Clarke, who scored 14 runs before losing his wicket. Tuffey only played 3 T20I games in his career.

Pakistan - Shoaib Akhtar

Pakistan's first T20I game was against England back in 2006. It was the Asian team that defeated its European counterparts. The first-ever T20I wicket-taker for Pakistan is Shoiab Akthar. The speedster got Ian Bell out, and it was Younis Khan, who took the catch to complete the scalp.

South Africa - Andre Nel

Andre Nel was the first South African to pick a wicket in the T20I format. He took the scalp of Nathan Astle and helped to break the opening partnership. However, South Africa still lost the game.

Australia - Michael Kasprowicz

New Zealand and Australia met for the first time in a T20I game in 2005. The match happened in Auckland, and it was the in-form Aussies who emerged victorious. The first T20I wicket-taker for Australia is Michael Kasprowicz, who clean bowled Stephen Fleming. Michael also took three other wickets in the game.

West Indies - Jerome Taylor

Two-time World T20 winner West Indies had its first T20I opponent in the form of New Zealand. This was a game that ended in a bowl out. Jerome Taylor was the first T20I wicket-taker for the team. He took the scalp of Stephen Fleming.

Sri Lanka - Dilhara Fernando

Dilhara Fernando clean bowled Andre Strauss to give Sri Lanka its first wicket in the T20I format. It was also an important wicket as it triggered a collapse of the English batting line-up.

Bangladesh - Mashrafe Mortaza

Mashrafe Mortaza picked the first scalp for Bangladesh in T20Is. He clean bowled Zimbabwe's Brendan Taylor to collect the wicket. Mashrafe also scored 36 runs in the game and was the Player of the Match.

Afghanistan - Dawlat Ahmadzai

Afghanistan's first T20I encounter was in 2010 against Ireland. Only Mohammed Nabi was the popular name in this XI. Dawlat Ahmadzai took the first wicket for the Afghans.

From around the web

Trending Videos