Top 10 run-scorers of IPL 2008: Where are They Now?

Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir

IPL 2008 was the first edition of the Indian Premier League. At that time, fans did not have an idea that in 2021, IPL will be the biggest T20 league in the world.

The fans witnessed big-hitting in IPL 2008. Also, they got the opportunity to see the Indian cricket team stars with the overseas players in the same side. Rajasthan Royals won the IPL in 2008, but in this article today, we will look at the top ten run-scorers of that season and where those players are now.

10. Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag was the best batter for DD in 2008. He scored 406 runs. He has retired from all formats of cricket now and working as cricket expert.

9. MS Dhoni

CSK captain MS Dhoni finished ninth on Orange Cap leaderboard in 2008. He scored 414 runs. He has retired from international cricket but leading CSK in IPL.

8. Suresh Raina - Highest run-scorer for CSK in IPL 2008

Nicknamed Mr. IPL, Raina amassed 421 runs in the 2008 season. Like Dhoni, he has quit international cricket but playing for CSK in the IPL.

7. Yusuf Pathan

RR won the first IPL, and Yusuf Pathan played an important role in their success. He scored 435 runs. Pathan has now retired from international cricket and IPL.

6. Adam Gilchrist - Highest run-scorer for DC in IPL 2008

Deccan Chargers finished last in 2008. But Adam Gilchrist was brilliant. He scored 436 runs. Gilchrist has retired from all forms of the game.

5. Graeme Smith

Another RR batter to feature on this list is Graeme Smith, who scored 441 runs. Smith has retired and is now working as Cricket South Africa's director.

4. Shane Watson - Highest run-scorer for RR in IPL 2008

Shane Watson is the third name from the RR squad. He aggregated 472 runs. Watson retired from IPL last year and is now working as a cricket expert.

3. Sanath Jayasuriya

Sanath Jayasuriya scored most runs for MI in IPL 2008, with 518 runs to his name. Jayasuriya entered politics after retirement. He also played in Road Safety World Series.

2. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir scored the most runs by an Indian in the first IPL season. He aggregated 534 runs. Gambhir has retired, joined politics and also working as a cricket expert.

1. Shaun Marsh - IPL 2008 Orange Cap winner

The first winner of the Orange Cap was Shaun Marsh. He played for Punjab Kings and scored 616 runs. Marsh is still playing but went unsold in IPL Auction 2021.

From around the web

Trending Videos