5 things you might not remember about ICC T20 World Cup 2007

ICC T20 World Cup 2007

The 2021 edition of the ICC T20 World Cup is set to happen in the United Arab Emirates and Oman soon. Many fans would remember that the first-ever ICC T20 World Cup 2007 happened in South Africa. India and Pakistan made it to the final, where MS Dhoni's men emerged victorious in a closely-contested match.

There were 12 participants in that ICC T20 World Cup, and the tournament had multiple rounds. While most fans remember that India and Pakistan played in the final, in this article, we will look at the five things you might not remember about ICC T20 World Cup 2007.

1. MS Dhoni captained India for the first time against Scotland

Mahendra Singh Dhoni made his captaincy debut for India in the inaugural ICC T20 World Cup. The fans remember the historic bowl-out between India and Pakistan. Before that, India and Scotland were scheduled to play against each other. However, the match did not happen because of rain. Dhoni had lost his first toss as Indian captain to Ryan Watson.

2. West Indies did not win a single match in ICC T20 World Cup 2007

The West Indies team is currently the most successful team in ICC T20 World Cup history. However, they returned home without a single win in 2007. They lost to South Africa in their first group match and then got eliminated after losing to Bangladesh.

3. Zimbabwe beat Australia in ICC T20 World Cup 2007

While Bangladesh defeating the West Indies was a big upset, it was not so big as Zimbabwe defeating the Australian cricket team. In Australia's first-ever ICC T20 World Cup match, they scored 138/9 against Zimbabwe. In reply, the African team scored 139/5 in 19.5 overs and won.

4. Brett Lee took the first-ever hat-trick in T20Is

Former Australian pacer Brett Lee became the first-ever bowler to take a hat-trick in T20 international cricket during the inaugural T20 World Cup. He accomplished that feat by dismissing Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza and Alok Kapali off successive deliveries in the match against Bangladesh.

5. Craig McMillan hit the most sixes

While one would expect Yuvraj Singh to be the man with the most sixes in 2007 T20 WC, it was New Zealand's Craig McMillan instead who smashed 13 maximums. Yuvraj had smashed 12 sixes.

From around the web

Trending Videos