The Unique Playing XI Of Each Team If There Was Reverse Foreign Quota Rules

The Unique Playing XI Of Each Team If There Was Reverse Foreign Quota Rules

Every team in IPL needs to have four foreigners and seven Indians. Ever since the IPL began, this has been the rule. It is also the best possible way that the global image of the competition can be maintained. Now, what if there is a reverse foreign quota rule in IPL? What would be the playing XI of each team? Here is more on this in the below headings.

Reverse Foreign Quota

The reverse foreign quota rules mean that every IPL XI would have seven foreign players and four Indians. We totally understand that this would never happen. Hence, it is just a concept on paper and there is nothing more to it. However, if it was to happen in IPL 2021, how would the franchise's line up? Here is more on this.

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings is one franchise that usually contains many established Indian cricketers. The foreigners are mostly used for specific roles. Now, if the reverse foreign quota rule is there, CSK still has a strong XI. There is plenty of balance and quite a few backups for the Indian contingent.

Playing XI: Faf du Plessis, Sam Curran, Suresh Raina, Moeen Ali, MS Dhoni (C &WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, and Imran Tahir

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals have one of the best domestic players in the competition. If this advantage is removed, they could have a little trouble finalizing their XI. That said, yet, on paper, the below line-up of the Capitals look title-worthy.

Playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Marcus Stoinis, Steve Smith, Sam Billings, Rishabh Pant (C & WK), Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Tom Curran, Kagiso Rabada, and Anrich Nortje

Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR will have a decent squad in this case. They have seven good overseas players and playing all of them would be a big advantage. Add to this Gill, DK, Varun and Kuldeep, this XI does look interesting.

Playing XI: Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Shakib Al Hasan, Eoin Morgan (C), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Andre Russell, Ben Cutting, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Varun CV and Kuldeep Yadav

Mumbai Indians - Strugglers in Reverse Foreign Quota Rule?

Mumbai Indians, though, we feel would struggle with this quota. So much that even Hardik Pandya could struggle to make it to this XI due to balance issues. Nevertheless, it is exactly the reason why they are dominant - because of a strong domestic core.

Playing XI: Quinton de Kock (WK), Rohit Sharma (C), Chris Lynn, Suryakumar Yadav, James Neesham, Kieron Pollard, Nathan Coulter Nile, Rahul Chahar, Adam Milne, Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah

Punjab Kings

While the batting line-up looks look, the bowling line-up is pretty much the same even with the foreign influx. The spin department is inexperienced, and this is one area that they could struggle with.

Playing XI: KL Rahul (C&WK), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Dawid Malan, Nicholas Pooran, Moises Henriques, Fabian Allen, Jhye Richardson, Chris Jordan, Ravi Bishnoi, and Mohammed Shami

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals have adopted the strategy of building their line-up around foreign buys in the last few seasons. Hence, this rule will bode well for them. In the Indian category, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Gopal, Shivam Dube and Rahul Tewatia will play in the XI.

Playing XI: Jos Buttler (WK), Sanju Samson (C), Ben Stokes, David Miller, Liam Livingstone, Shivam Dube, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Shreyas Gopal, Andrew Tye, and Mustafizur Rahman

Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB seems weak with this rule. This is because they have very few experienced foreign players. Apart from ABD, Maxwell and Zampa, and to an extent Richardson, others have not done too much for their countries so far.

Playing XI: Virat Kohli (C), Devdutt Padikkal, Finn Allen (WK), AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, Dan Christian, Washington Sundar, Daniel Sams, Kyle Jamieson, Kane Richardson and Yuzvendra Chahal

Sunrisers Hyderabad - The Best Team in the Reverse Foreign Quota Rule?

Sunrisers Hyderabad will have a clear strategy in this scenario. Barring Manish Pandey, the top half shall include the overseas players while the bowling department will be handled by the Indians. This is anyways their strategy at the moment. All things aside, this batting line-up of SRH is surely a lip-smacking one.

Playing XI: David Warner (C), Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow (WK), Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, and T Natarajan

From around the web

Trending Videos